HHS IT committee gets new member

Anjum Khurshid, a senior adviser in the health systems division of the Louisiana Public Health Institute is the newest member of the Health Information Technology Policy Committee (HITPC). He is a public representative on the body. U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Secretary Sylvia M. Burwell made the announcement today.

Burwell also renewed appointments for three members of the Health IT Standards Committee (HITSC):

  • Floyd Eisenberg, MD, MPH, a consultant for iParsimony LLC, is a quality measurement representative on the committee.
  • Leslie Kelly Hall, senior vice president of policy at Healthwise, is a consumer/patient representative.
  • Arien Malec, vice president of data platform and acquisition Tools for RelayHealth, is an electronic exchange representative.

The two federal advisory committees were created through the Health Information Technology for Economic and Clinical Health (HITECH) Act in accordance with the Federal Advisory Committee Act (FACA). Both committees are charged with recommending policies and technologies needed to implement a nationwide HIT infrastructure and strategic plan. The committees also provide the opportunity for stakeholders and the public to provide direct input to HHS. 

Three members of the HITPC are appointed by the HHS Secretary, four members are appointed by Congress, 13 members are appointed by the comptroller general of the United States and other federal members are appointed by the president. Members of the HITSC are appointed by the HHS secretary, with input from the Office of the National Coordinator for Health Information Technology.

Topics: Technology & IT