Final 3 members appointed to LTC commission

The Obama Administration has named the three members it will add to the bipartisan Long Term Care Commission. The executive choices complete the 15-member commission, which was designed to include three members each from the House Republicans, House Democrats, Senate Republicans and Senate Democrats.

Henry Claypool, the executive vice president for policy at the American Association of People with Disabilities who also served as the senior advisor for disability policy to Kathleen Sebelius, the Secretary of Health & Human Services.

Julian Harris, MD, the director of the Massachusetts Office of Medicaid.

Carol Raphael, the vice chair of the AARP board, the board chair of the New York eHealth Collaborative and a former president and CEO of the Visiting Nurse Service of New York.

The three presidential choices join the rest of the commission, appointed earlier:

  • Judith Y. Brachman, national co-chair of Jewish Federations of North America’s Aging and Family Caregiving Committee and former director of the Ohio Department of Aging
  • Stephen Guillard of Chatham, Mass., a health care executive
  • Grace-Marie Turner, president of the Galen Institute
  • Bruce D. Greenstein, secretary of the Louisiana Department of Health and Hospitals
  • Neil L. Pruitt, Jr., chair and CEO of the UHS-Pruitt Corporation and board member of the American Health Care Association
  • Mark Washofski, a former member of the Treasury Department under President George W. Bush
  • Javaid Anwar, physician and former chair of Nevada's Committee on Access to Health Care.
  • Laphonza Butler, president of the United Long-Term Care Workers Union
  • Judy Feder, professor of public policy at the Georgetown Public Policy Institute
  • Bruce Allen Chernof, president and CEO of The SCAN Foundation
  • Judith Stein, founder and executive director of the Center for Medicare Advocacy, Inc.
  • George Vrandenburg, president of the Vrandenburg Foundation and founder of USAgainstAlzheimer’s

The commission has been charged with brainstorming solutions to a variety of LTC  issues. By law, the commission has six months to produce its suggestions.

Topics: Accountable Care Organizations (ACOs) , Advocacy , Executive Leadership , Medicare/Medicaid , Regulatory Compliance