Resident Assessment Protocol, Care Area Assessment | I Advance Senior Care Skip to content Skip to navigation

Resident Assessment Protocol, Care Area Assessment

August 1, 2010
by Susan Duda-Gardiner, BSN, RN, LNHA
| Reprints
Are they really the same?


Instead of Resident Assessment Protocols, MDS 3.0 will be using Care Area Assessments for more in-depth assessment. There are some similarities and some differences between RAPs and CAAs.

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) believes that the new MDS 3.0 will introduce advances in assessment measures, increase the clinical relevance of the assessment items, improve accuracy and validity, increase resident voice, and increase user satisfaction. MDS 2.0 used Resident Assessment Protocols (RAPs) for more comprehensive assessment of triggered areas. Instead of RAPs, MDS 3.0 will be using Care Area Assessments (CAAs) for more in-depth assessment. There are some similarities and some differences between RAPs and CAAs.

According to CMS, “The purpose of the Care Area Triggers and Care Area Assessments is development of a resident-specific care plan based on identified problems, needs, and strengths.” Since the MDS is a preliminary screening tool and not a comprehensive assessment, the CAAs provide for a more comprehensive assessment process. The goal of the comprehensive assessment is to promote the highest practicable level of functioning for the resident through an assessment of triggered care areas on the MDS. After these areas are triggered, a further assessment will allow an understanding of the causes and contributing factors and determine if there is a problem in each of these areas.

When completed, the MDS 3.0 Section V: Care Area Assessment (CAA) Summary lists which care areas were triggered and if further assessment determined the need for care planning. How is the assessment process in MDS 3.0 different from that in MDS 2.0? The following comparison can be made:

MDS 2.0

  • MDS screens for possible problems in 18 care areas.

  • Triggers alert to possible issues in the care needs.

  • Triggered care area must be thoroughly assessed.

  • RAPS must be the tool used for conducting the assessment.

  • Documentation must meet criteria.

MDS 3.0

  • MDS screens for possible problems in 20 care areas.

  • Care Area Triggers (CATs) alert to possible issues in the care needs.

  • Triggered care area must be thoroughly assessed.

  • There is no mandated specific tool for assessment.

  • Documentation must meet criteria.

Major difference

The two new CAAs that are part of MDS 3.0 are “Pain” and “Return to the Community.” The major difference between the old MDS 2.0 process and the MDS 3.0 process is that facilities must now use validated practice standards, not mandated forms, for their further assessment of the Care Area Triggers.

Chapter 4 of the MDS 3.0 Resident Assessment Instrument (RAI) manual provides very specific information on the care areas and the CAA process. The MDS is the starting point in development of the individualized care plan. The information gained after completing the MDS will identify actual or potential areas of concern. These areas become highlighted as Care Area Triggers. The CATs replace the MDS 2.0 triggers and identify potential problems, needs, or strengths. The CATs all come from the resident's current MDS 3.0 except the two for “Delirium” and “Mood” that look back to the resident's previous MDS. The CATs provide flags for the interdisciplinary team (IDT) and are the link between data and further assessment.

Depending on which MDS items are triggered by the CAT logic, the care areas needing further attention are determined. As the CAT is the link between the data and the assessment, the CAA is the link between the assessment and care planning. Further investigation will then identify whether these areas of concern are a problem or risk requiring interventions and care planning.

All triggered CAAs must be addressed in Section V but may or may not be addressed in a care plan. CMS states, “The RAI is not intended to provide diagnostic advice, nor is it intended to specify which areas may be related to one another or how those problems relate to underlying causes.” The IDT, along with the resident's physician, needs to look at the assessment findings and determine these interconnections.

No mandated forms

Although MDS 2.0 demanded that the RAPs be used for this further investigation, there are no mandated forms that must be used for the CAA process in MDS 3.0. The facility is instructed in the RAI Manual, “To identify and use tools that are current and grounded in current clinical standards of practice, such as evidence-based or expert-endorsed research, clinical practice guidelines, and resources.”

Although there are no mandated forms, CMS does supply facilities with CAA Resources in Appendix C. The appendix includes care area specific tools that the assessor can use for each of the 20 care areas. Each tool is between three to five pages long, guides the interdisciplinary decision-making, and provides a place to document the process. The benefit of using the tools in Appendix C is that it gives a comprehensive, reliable assessment that has good rater reliability.

Appendix C also includes a Care Area General Resource list. None of these tools or resources is mandated but according to CMS, “Nursing homes should ensure that whatever assessment and care planning resources are used are current, evidence-based, or expert-endorsed research, and clinical practice guidelines/resources.” The facility should also be able to provide surveyors with the resources that were used in the decision-making process.