APIC Elects New Leadership

The Association for Professionals in Infection Control and Epidemiology’s (APIC’s) has appointed an infection control specialist from Minnesota as its 2012 president.

Michelle R. Farber, RN, CIC, of Mercy Community Hospital in Coon Rapids, Minnesota, will hold the position of president-elect until her term as president begins in 2012.

Russell N. Olmsted, MPH, CIC, will serve as APIC president in 2011. Olmsted is epidemiologist in Infection Prevention & Control Services at St. Joseph Mercy Health System in Ann Arbor, Michigan.

Current APIC Secretary Carolyn Jackson, RN, MA, CIC and Treasurer Jennie Mayfield, BSN, MPH, CIC were both re-elected to their positions. Jackson is infection preventionist of SHW-Hadley Hospital in Lanham, Maryland; while Mayfield is clinical epidemiologist at Barnes-Jewish Hospital in St. Louis, Missouri.

In addition, the following APIC members were elected to serve on the Board of Directors for a two-year term beginning in January 2011:

· Linda J. Burton, RN, BSN, CIC, infection preventionist, University of Colorado Hospital, Aurora, Colorado.

· Marcia R. Patrick, RN, MSN, CIC, director of Infection Prevention and Control, MultiCare Health System, Tacoma, Washington.

· Neil R. Pascoe, RN, BSN, CIC, epidemiologist, Texas Department of State Health Services, Austin, Texas.

· Jolynn Zeller, RN, BS, CIC, coordinator, Infection Prevention/Performance Improvement, Avera St. Luke’s, Aberdeen, South Dakota.

· Clifton N. Orme, MBA, chief operating officer, CIMA, a division of International Hospital Corporation, in Dallas, Texas (External Director).

Topics: Articles