Three appointees to the Commission on Long-Term Care announced

On Thursday, Senior Democratic Leader Nancy Pelosi announced from the House floor her three appointees to the Commission on Long-Term Care: President/CEO of The SCAN Foundation, Dr. Bruce Allen Chernof; former president of the National Academy of Elder Law Attorneys (NAELA) Judith Stein and philanthropist/activist George Vradenberg.

On January 2, the Community Living Assistance Services and Supports (CLASS) Act went over the fiscal cliff. In its stead, the American Taxpayers Relief Act of 2012 (ATRA) established the Commission on Long-Term Care to be responsible for developing a plan to create, implement and finance long-term care services for seniors and others with disabilities or cognitive challenges.

Eventually, the bipartisan Commission on Long-Term Care will consist of 15 members: three nominated by President Obama, six by Democrats and six by Republicans representing both the House and Senate.

Topics: Advocacy , Regulatory Compliance