Federal LTC Commission is set to begin its work

On June 27, the 15 members of the federal Commission on Long-Term Care will meet for the first time to provide recommendations on how to finance and improve long-term care services and supports. Bruce A. Chernof, president of the SCAN Foundation, will serve as chair and Mark Warshawsky will serve as vice chair.

However, with a remaining four-month lifespan, no permanent staff and a limited budget, expectations are low for developing a high-quality system to provide long-term services and supports for people in need. If the panel’s does complete its mission, Congress is under no obligation to act upon its recommendations, notes Howard Gleckman, author of “Caring for Our Parents,” in a blog.

Commission on Long-Term Care Members

Bruce A. Chernof, Chair

Mark Warshawski, Vice Chair

Javaid Anwar

Judith Brachman

Laphonza Butler

Henry Claypool

Judith Feder

Stephen Guillard

Julian Harris

Christopher Jacobs (replacing Bruce Greenstein)

Neil Pruitt, Jr.

Carol Raphael

Judith Stein

Grace-Marie Turner

George Vrandenburg

Topics: Advocacy , Executive Leadership