A new standard for absorbent products is needed

When caregivers, families or users purchase absorbent continence product, they need to know that the type or brand they buy has the features that enable them to manage urinary or fecal issues efficiently. The National Association for Continence (NAFC) created a council of manufacturers, members of the non-wovens trade association, nurses, caregivers and five government agencies to determine the basic quality performance standards for absorbent continence products, focusing on Medicaid Waiver recipients. The list of the council’s recommendations covers eight characteristics:

  1. Rewet rate
  2. Rate of absorption
  3. Retention capacity
  4. Sizing options
  5. Safety
  6. Presence of a closure system
  7. Breathable zones
  8. Elastics performance

Currently, these characteristics vary among manufacturers and the NAFC believes that its recommended quality performance standards will reduce costs and improve care.  A list of disposable and reusable continence products is available on the NAFC website. A summary of the council’s recommendations was published in the peer-reviewed journal, Ostomy Wound Management

Topics: Alzheimer's/Dementia , Clinical , Executive Leadership